Book Review: Safe Haven -Nicholas Sparks

Image

Series: Standalone

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7812659-safe-haven?ac=1

This was my first ever Nicholas Sparks book and boy do I have to say, I picked the perfect place to start. I have been wanting to see the movie based on this book since the first trailer so hey, read the book first right? Right! I got my copy of the book from the library down the street from my house and like always, I am now wishing I just went out and bought the book.

I really loved the characters here! Every character was amazing (although not always because they possessed good qualities), and I love the way the children first interacted and grew with Katie. I will have to say that her romance with Alex was breathtaking and I loved his character so much. How could you not fall in love with the single dad with a big heart who is always trying his hardest and is not full of himself? The other aspect that I liked with the flash backs that Katie had of her old life, wow, those were intense and appropriately shown as nightmares! Katie’s journey of planning, executing, and living her life was really intense and the way she grew because of it seemed very realistic. I have since gone out looking for more Nicholas Sparks books and I hope to continue to be amazed.

As for the movie, I did see it a few days after I finished the book and I was actually disappointed.  Of course the book and movie are always different and while I always anticipate that the book will be better, I had completely went in expecting equal footing. Low and behold, I wasn’t half as amazed with the movie adaption, what a bummer. But the book was great and the movie was okay, so I can’t really complain.

2 Comments

  1. With a lot of Nicholas Sparks books, I’m deterred from reading them because it sounds as though they’re going to be sad for a lot of the book or be doomed to a sad ending from the start. This one sounds more like it might end up happy so I might use it as my starting place for reading Sparks as well. Thanks for the helpful review 🙂

Leave a comment